White man’s democracy is a black man’s dysfunction

White man’s democracy is a black man’s dysfunction.

‘“In Aboriginal affairs, do you think there’s a bit of something in the environment that makes advocates feel as though they have to join teams in this discussion? You’ve got the anti-welfare mob, you’ve got… it just seems to me to be very factionalised. Do you think that’s because the environment is very conflict heavy at the moment or it’s just the way these discussions are evolving?”…’

“There’s two things that are particularly galling about this line of questioning. The first is that it borne from a style of thinking of which many mainstream journalists are guilty, and have expressed to me personally: Aboriginal communities are dysfunctional because Aboriginal politics is toxic, and riven with bitterness, feuding and lateral violence…”

My question, well maybe more of an observation, after reading this is, are we, African-Americans, suffering from the same idioms in our own environment and if so then why are we, or am I, not doing anything to counter it? We will never have another Malcolm X, Martin Luther King, Jr., Rosa Parks, and the like, so we, or I, need to do something for ourselves, or myself, and in the process bring up another brethren and sister as well, instead of “crab barrelling” our own kind or another; period. Pretty much I need to look out not only for myself but for the next brother and sister as well and even warn them or advise them. They do not have to take or accept what I say but if I do my part then I am paying it forward, continuously.

After reading this post, It’s not that I want to say it is “refreshing” to see that black here is black everywhere but rather it seems that colonialism from the main European countries, i.e. France, British, Spain, Portugal, seems to have created a dysfunctional view of people of color, due to slavery and just plain evilness. People of color seem to experience the same treatment, from colonial thinking, both here in America and abroad and such thoughts are even shared among our own brother and sisters and makes it so hard to come together and stand against these thoughts. These same idioms or turn of phrase then tend to translate to actions, the wrong kind, and even into laws or mandates that are so lopsided. I really hope that in writing this I reach even one person who then reaches another and another and it keeps going around and around.

Leave a Reply

