Renewal

“No wireless. Less space than a nomad. Lame.” — cmdrtaco, Slashdot.org, 2001, reviewing the first iPod

“$400 for an Mp3 Player! I’d call it the Cube 2.0 as it wont sell, and be killed off in a short time… and it’s not really functional. Uuhh Steve, can I have a PDA now?” — elitemacor, macrumors.com, 2001, responding to the original iPod announcement

These quotes are from ma.tt‘s website/blog. The article that I was reading is titled, 1.0 Is the Loneliest Number. Well, while reading that article and at the same time Stemmings’ essay, Don’t (an essay which will light a fire under your butt even if you are just a designer in training or aspire to be and do anything in your life, regardless of age), something came to mind: Fear of Failure or, its cousin, sister, brother, whichever, Fear of success. I remember when I was to start this blog, I thought who would read it? Who would care? Who would take the time to read the “essay’s” I write? However, so far I am seeing a steady up-tick in viewer-ship and those who follow the blog. So, reading these blogs prodded me to write this and to also share the sites so that others can read them and refuel themselves and do what it is that they want or have wanted to do.

Fear of failure.

What can I say about that!? Well, every ideas and thoughts that come to mind are ones that I know could have worked, since I see this app here, that site there and this product over here working for the ones whom were not afraid to follow their instincts regardless of test or market research. So, my downfall was doing the opposite of Nike “Just Do It” motto. I nitpick the heck out of those ideas and thoughts to the point that I overwhelmed myself and gave up, eventually, since nothing was being done and I had not only become my own worst enemy but crippled myself in and with FEAR.

Fear of success.

The opposite of failure!? Hugh!! who would have thought that one would actually fear succeeding in his endeavor?? [Hand raised] I am right here, the one who actually thought that he actually succeeded in his endeavor(s) would be a problem since he probably would lose it all again and have to go through this struggle once more [scratching head]… You see I come from a family that was well of, in the islands, and then came to not. So, in my mind I have rationalized that succeeding would bring in more pain than I am willing to deal with since I went through it already. [shaking my head], such was my state.

Thank god for knowledge, wisdom and understanding. Reading on Matt Mullenweg‘s (who by the way gave us WordPress :-)) and Stemmings’ sites were a welcomed breath of more fresh air. I had already started to work on the many ideas that I had years ago, which I did write down, and the updates to those ideas, since we are further along in technology. LOL… I am so happy that we have great people, minds and doers who, even though they may not know everybody they touch, are indeed great mentors, regardless of age, sex, color, religion or creed!!

Hope this also helps someone else to start over with a peace of mind. By no means is it easy to just pick up from where you left things or gave up but ONE DAY AT A TIME, works just fine.

 

Love Unconditional…

SR

Leave a Reply

